Happy Ending!

Standard

So check out this story! I live in a house where there is a lot of sports on….ALL the time! Sometimes, I actually watch…and sometimes I am actually moved! If you haven’t heard the story, check out this video:

Ok–so this morning on the Today show, this film maker,Matt Litson, and Adam Greenberg are on the show talking about this One At Bat campaign. At the end of the segment, they announce that the Miami Marlins have given Adam a one day contract for next TUESDAY where he will get another “at bat”. And all this because a film maker decided to do something about it!

Stampin’ Up! has this stamp set (Pursuit of Happiness) that has the following quote:
“Do you lttle bit of GOOD where you are. It’s those little bits of GOOD put together that OVERWHELM the world.”
~Desmond Tutu

Don’t you love that? It reminds me of this story! While this won’t be a world changing event, I think everyone who hears this story will be routing for Adam and thankful for Matt Liston!

Ok–I have no segway here to my card!

It is here–There is no turning back!   Fall is here and it is the time of year crafting turns towards autumn, Halloween, Thanksgiving and beyond!  That doesn’t mean you can’t craft with bright colors and flowers…..it just means you probably are leaning more towards the leaves, jewel tones (“Regals”), and creepy.

Here is a quick post of a card that I did for a recent shoebox swap with my fellow demonstrators:

This card came about sort of by accident.   I knew that I wanted to emboss the detail part of the leaves with embossing powder and thought I was picking up PEWTER embossing powder.  Turns out, it was Espresso powder.  But then I discovered I LOVE espresso with the River Rock.  Who knew?   Well–proably anybody with color sense–just not me!  Came as a happy surprise!

Now–I know you are all wondering what about the pewter??   I did go back and emboss with pewter but really preferred the espresso with this card.

Now–speaking of happy surprises…   I didn’t use my Embossing Buddy on this card initially.  Truthfully, I forgot. An Embossing Buddy is a little pillow-like device filled with some magic powder. When you rub the “buddy” over your cardstock before you start your project, it will cut down on the static.   When you don’t use your Embossing Buddy, you can often (more so with metallic embossing powders, I find) get little “flakes” of embossing powder that land where they land and there is no getting them off.   So they ulitmately get embossed on creating less of a “clean look”.   Lucky for me–it lends itself to this card.   So much, in fact that I decided to go with that look and use my spritzer tool and espresso marker to get that look all over.  So when things come out “less clean” than you planned—-just go with it!!!

Where can you get your OWN Embossing Buddy, you ask? Well, That little gem in addtiion to everything else I used to make this card can be foud right here

Supplies:
Gently Falling Stamp set, Seasonal Sayings, Espresso Embossing Powder, Embossing Buddy, Versamark, River Rock, More Mustard, Riding Hood Red, Very Vanilla, Early Espresso Marker, Spritzer tool, Heat Gun

Leave a Reply

