Where were YOU?

Standard

I have been hearing all week about the Blizzard of ’78 and recalling where everyone was.   I was in 8th grade.  We had an exchange student living with us that year so my parents (who were both home for the storm) had 5 children…4 of whom were teens!!!!  Apparently, they have paid their dues!  I don’t remember it being awful…they might feel differently.  BUT–I DO remember my parents letting us walk to Lil’ General Store (which was REALLY far away….in my memory) with the other teens!  Hmmmmmmm….I am beginning to see now!  Perhaps after several days they were willing to risk one or two of us for some peace and quiet!  Or maybe we really DID need food—-it is hard to say!

  If you have any memories, I would love to hear them!

Anyhow, with all these memories and the impending storm coming on Friday, I thought it was time for some summer thoughts!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a couple of items here from the Occasions Catalog.   The Natural Trim Ribbon (SHOCKING!  I am going to start calling that “Trim Ribbon, Naturally!”), the Co’ordinations Card Stock (Primrose Pink–also comes in Pool Party and Real Red), the Honeycomb Embossing folder and the Canvas Creations paper.   Let me show you this a bit more closely:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACan you see how it really looks like canvas?   You stamp on it like card stock but the image comes out a bit lighter and more vinatage-y looking.  I thought it worked well with this stamp from Feeling Sentimental (SaleABration 2013).  I stamped it in Espresso and then sponged some Crumb Cake and Primrose Petals ink onto it.   I finished if off with the greeting from Vintage Verses (SaleABration  2013).

Here’s hoping today brings you summer memories to keep you warm!

If I can help you with anything you have seen here today, contact me here.

 

5 responses »

  1. Hi Betty! I was teaching at Finberg School in Attleboro. We had clear skies and went into the gym for a rehearsal and when we came up, we couldn’t see out the door. They didn’t let the kids out early so the parents kept coming in to get the first graders and saying how bad it was on the roads. The kids were crying so I had to keep singing. I did make it to Prov. and we spent 3 weeks with no school. Thank god for that because I had my Masters Degree recital that spring and I spent a great deal of time practicing. What a storm! Enjoy Friday’s weather. Marie

    ________________________________

  2. I like this look; I’ll have to try it. Let’s see ….. The blizzard of 78…..I was a bit older than you. I remember being out of work for a whole week and we still got paid for a whole week. A bulldozer came down our street to plow a path so we could walk to the store. A lot of snow but it really was a great time.

  3. Today is also Doug’s 35th Anniversary of his first day with Hospital Trust Bank. I made it home from what was then Rhode Island Junior College in Lincoln as they shut the school down at noon time. It was a bit of a treacherous drive but I did make it. Doug did finally made it as far as his brother’s house in Warwick at about 10:30 p.m. I think he and other passengers even had to get out and push the RIPTA bus out of a snow pile.

  4. Ok so I’m younger then you and I remember standing on the top of the snow not realizing I was actually standing on our blue Volkswagon Bug. Then I remember riding my red saucer down the Oliver Street bridge to go to Fernandes!

    Love this card. Can’t wait to get my hands on this stamp set!

  5. Pingback: Canvas Tide « Booptique's Blog

Leave a Reply

