Sometime You Need a Little Cake; Sometime You Need A Lot!

Standard

You know it is true!  Sometimes a bite of cake or two will do.  Sometimes you need the whole thing!   What is the best cake you ever ate?   I know this is crazy but the best cake I can recall would have to be from the church fair last year.  It had a tag on it, “Chuck’s Famous Mayonnaise Cake”.

I was very intrigued.  Was Chuck famous but a bad baker?   Was Chuck famous because mayonnaise seems like a weird thing to put into a cake?  OR–was this cake truly that memorable that it earned the “famous”.   The woman at the bake table told me he makes it every year.   One would think if it was bad, he would stop early on.  SO–I bought it.   SO good—yes, I dare say FAMOUS!!!!

I did a little looking around after the fact (got to love Google) and found out that Mayonnaise Cakes became popular during the war…”which war?,” you ask?  Well not anything recent.  NOW people just think mayonnaise is a weird thing to put in a cake.

In any case, there are recipes out there to be had.  Next time you need a cake, I recommend you try one!   Trust me, and Chuck!  You will need more than just a bite or two.

Leave me a comment about your favorite cake and I will send you a card!

Now–I had a little time to do some quick stamping the other day.  I pulled out my Make A Cake Stamp set.   I haven’t used this cute set in a while.  It is perfect for a quick, go-to birthday set. Sometime you need a little cake; Sometime you need a lot!    Here are the cards I whipped up quicker than you could pull the mayo out of the fridge:

blogaugust30

Here is a close up of the “BIG” cake.

blogaugust30.1 Can you see that the middle layer is glittered?  I just used my Two Way Glue Pen and Dazzling Diamonds to get this effect.  I think I will suggest it to Chuck if I ever meet him!

Supplies

Stamp Set: Make  A Cake

Ink and Paper:  Island Indigo, Whisper White, Gingham Garden

Other:  Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots, Blender Pen, 2 Way Glue, Dazzling Diamonds, 2 1/2 ” Circle Punch, Baker’s Twine, Candy Dots, Mayonnaise…..KIDDING!!

Leave a Reply

