Stampin’ Up! Spiral Flower Rose Wreath Tutorial

Standard

Before I get to the tutorial, I wanted to let you all know about the SaleABration Celebration we are throwing on February 15th.   We have lots of fun paper crafting in store for you!     You can click up above to get more details and RSVP.

Ok—on to the tutorial:

While I was at the Stampin’ Up! Leadership Convention recently, I saw the greatest rose wreath and knew I was going to “case”(Copy And Steal Everything) it as soon as I got home.   I would like to give credit where credit is due but don’t know the name of the woman demonstrating the Spiral Flower Originals Die.   I even called Stampin’ Up! to find out but nobody could tell me.

In any case, here is my version of what she made in Cherry Cobbler:

blogjan27.12

Let me show you how I did it.

 

I begin with the 2 largest Heart  Collection Framelits  set up like this:  (Put through the Big Shot at the same time)

blogjan27.1

I “Big Shotted” one set  using the back of the packaging that comes with Designer Series Paper to give it some stability (I tried a thicker cardboard but the framelit wouldn’t cut through it cleanly) and one using the cardstock color of the roses (in this case, Pink Pirouette) just in case you might see through the roses.  Simply adhere these two together.  They may not fit perfectly together as your framelits might have been a bit off but no worries.

blogjan27.2 blogjan27.3

Next, I cut out 11 roses using the Spiral Flower Originals Die.   You can cut out several layers at once.   I was able to cut 4 piece of cardstock at a time (Sa-Weet!).    You may be asking why 11 as that does not make for a symmetrical heart.   I say, “Symmetrical Shermetical!”  I believe perfection is over rated and 11 roses worked for me.  If you are the type that needs symmetry in your life, that is fine!  No need to be embarrassed.  Embrace it and cut an EVEN number of flowers.

blogjan27.4

In order to make the rolling of the flower a little easier, you want to break up the fibers in the cardstock.   I chose to spritz with rubbing alcohol and crumple up.   I was going for more distressed looking flowers so that was fine.   If you want a cleaner look to your flowers, you could just use a bone folder.

blogjan27.5

Taking Patty Bennett’s advice, I used these tweezers to roll the flower, starting from the small end and working around.   It comes together very easily with these tweezers.  Once you have rolled it all the way around, using hot glue (my preference), you tuck the last “scallop” under the rose.

blogjan27.6

blogjan27.7

I was going for a “shabby chic” look so next, I squished the  rose by simply pressing on it from the top using my hand

blogjan27.8

  Here is the difference of a squished and an unsquished rose.  The choice is yours.

blogjan27.9

Next, I used my glue gun (best invention EVER!) and adhered the roses to the base.

To finish it up, I used some coordinating ribbon to hang the wreath.

blogjan27.13

Supplies:  Spiral Flower Originals Die, Big Shot, Pink Pirouette Cardstock, Hearts Collection Framelits

Contact me if you have any questions or  would like to purchase any of the Stampin’ Up! items listed above.  I am happy to help you out!

 

Leave a Reply

