Two sides to every ribbon!

Standard

Thanks for stopping by.  I know I have been a little “scattered” with posts lately (If you think the posts are scattered, you should see the inside of my brain!) as there is much going on….all good–just “much”.  So I thank you for sticking with me.

As you know, Stampin’ Up! released their annual list of retiring items , including stamp sets, a few weeks ago.  As a result, those items and stamp sets have been going like hotcakes!  (What a weird expression—-You would think “waffles” would go quicker!) You should check out the list here and get ordering what you know you can’t live without.

Normally, this time of year, I show you things you can do with these soon to be retired sets.  But because I don’t want you to fall in love with something you can’t have, I decided on a new plan this year.  My next few posts will be things still available….just in case you fall in love!

One of my favorite accessories in the catalog is the Linen Trim Ribbon.     And it is going away!  It will sell out–it is THAT good!    I know it has had a good run for a couple of years now but I am not done loving it!  So–while stamping today, look what I discovered!

blogmay6.1

TWO-SIDED RIBBON!   Ok–I know it is not earth shattering but I honestly never thought of the back side of this Chevron Ribbon!  It is slightly wider than the Natural Trim I love but not much!   I can work with this (and so can you!)

 

Today, I wanted to share with you a sample of a set that has no plans on retiring anytime soon (or at least for a year!).   I haven’t stamped in too long and haven’t done a challenge in even longer so I set out to do this today.   I found this sketch at As You See It:

AYSIChallenge035-1024x1024

Here is what I came up with using Daydream Medallions:

blogmay6

I know what you are thinking:  It doesn’t look anything like the sketch–where is your tag?   The sketch is INSPIRATION, people!  I saw the sketch, saw the OTHER side of the ribbon and went with it!

And did you know there is a framelit collection that matches this set???  Those sneaky people at Stampin’ Up!–Always thinking!

Here is another angle of it so you can see the dimension.

blogmay6.2

And here are some of the details:

blogmay6.3

Oops–I see a little smudgey next to the ribbon.  Ah well–hand made!   Got to love it!

Let me know what you think–what is YOUR favorite retiring product?   And stop by my store to do some shopping before it is gone!

Here are the materials used to make this card:

Stamp Set:  Daydream Medallions

Ink and Paper:  Elegant Eggplant, Island Indigo, Naturals Ivory, Basic Grey

Other:  Chevron Ribbon (The OTHER side), Linen Thread, Floral Frames Collection, Big Shot, Regals Buttons, Dimensionals

6 responses »

  1. I love this card! You know the #1 thing I like most about it? That you used Daydream Medallions! It’s totally inspiring me to get mine out. I also love how you flipped your ribbon over! Just genius. Thanks for playing along with the As You See It Challenge this week. I hope you’ll join us again this week as a new challenge releases Friday! 🙂

  2. I love all the dimension on this sweet card! And – I can’t believe this – I did NOT know that the chevron ribbon was blank on the other side – so excited about that!! Thank you for sharing that great tip, and for playing along with the As You See It Challenge this week! Our next challenge will be posted on Friday – hope you will play again!

  3. Love that you took the sketch and used it your way. Fantastic use of the Daydream Medallions…I also may have to pull that sucker out. So nice seeing your link again at the AYSI Challenge this week 🙂

  4. Amanda,
    I didn’t realize how beautiful this set is—and it IS beautiful! Haven’t used it in forever but was looking for something that isn’t retiring….so there it is! Good to BE back! Thanks for your kind words!

  5. Desiree, Makes me feel better that I wasn’t the only one who was shocked at the other side of the ribbon!! Thanks again for your sweet note.

  6. Sarah,
    I haven’t used this set in Forever either! It really is wonderful…well, once you also get your Stamp A Ma Jig out! Thanks for your note and here’s hopin’ I will see you next week too!

Leave a Reply

